Ecuador in Facts

The Amazon Rainforest, Ecuador
Name: Republic of Ecuador

Independence: May 24, 1822 (from Spain)

Type of government: Democratic Republic

Area: 256,370 sq. kilometers

Population: 13,927,650

Capital City: Quito (population 1.2 million)

Principal cities: Guayaquil, Quito, and Cuenca

Currency: U.S. Dollar

Climate: tropical along the coast and in the Amazon region, and cooler in the highlands

Languages: Spanish (official), numerous indigenous tongues. Quichua, the language of the Incas, is the most widely spoken indigenous language. English is commonly spoken among professionals and tourism providers.

Indigenous groups: over 40 indigenous nations including the Quichua, Huaorani, Shuar (Jivaro), Achuar, Cofan, Siona, Secoya, Otavaleño

Coastline: 2,237 kilometers

Highest point: Chimborazo Volcano, 6,310 meters

Terrain: coastal plain (Costa), inter-Andean highlands (Sierra), rolling eastern rainforest plain (Oriente) & the Galapagos Island Archipelago

Information from Ecuador Explorer: